Chisholm, Langer receive nation’s highest honors for scientists and inventors

President Obama recognized the 2011 National Medal of Science and National Medal of Technology and Innovation recipients at a White House ceremony on Feb. 1, 2013.

The recipients included Sallie (Penny) Chisholm, the Lee and Geraldine Martin Professor of Environmental Studies in MIT’s Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering, who received the National Medal of Science; and Robert Langer, the David H. Koch Institute Professor, who was awarded the National Medal of Technology and Innovation.

Find out more: